6 Signs You Are in an Abusive Relationship…

27 Feb

6 Signs You Are in an Abusive Relationship
Posted on February 6, 2012 by livingvoraciously

Rate This

By Mary Beth Sammons – Jan 21, 2012

Reblogging… you can read the original post here. I should’ve known better but I didn’t and I fell for an abuser. The heart break will heal and thank God that he broke my heart, it saved me from a long life of abuse for sure. I knew the signs but I ignored them, hoping for something better, hoping that he’ll change. He didn’t so now I have to change. I am reblogging this in the hope that those who are currently in relationship will open their eyes to the sign and see things for what they really are instead of what they hope it will be.

“Quote = original post”

Does your husband routinely berate you or hold economic power over you? Just because he’s not physically hitting you doesn’t mean that something isn’t wrong. Women who come to Circle of Moms looking to understand whether they are in an emotionally abusive relationship often get this kind of questioning and coaching from other moms. A typical story, this one shared by a Circle of Moms member named Hope, goes like this:

“Sometimes he’s just so mean. He’s never hit me or anything like that but he’s very controlling. I’m not allowed to have a job or go to school. He checks my phone every day. He tells me what I can and can’t wear and how to do my hair and makeup. Is it abusive?”

Hope’s answer: a resounding yes, offered up confidently by Circle of Moms members who have successfully extricated themselves from abusive relationships. Here, culled from their frank conversations about the nature of abusive relationships, are six signs that you are in one.
1. Your Partner Blames You For the Mistreatment

When a woman feels thrown off balance or has to ask if her partner’s behavior is abusive, chances are she is being abused. As Circle of Moms member Julie explains, “Feeling lost and not knowing where to turn and being caught off guard are true signs.

“A victim is often the target of angry outbursts, sarcasm, or cool indifference. The abuser’s reaction to these actions is frequently cloaked in a ‘What’s wrong with you?’ attitude. She is accused of ‘making a mountain out of a molehill.’ Over time she loses her balance and equilibrium and begins to wonder if she is the one who is crazy. Often he makes light of the abuse and does not take your concerns seriously.”

Lisa adds, definitively: “This is called emotional abuse. No one deserves it or should put up with it. The next step might be physical.”
2. Your Partner Tries to Control You

Abusers often have extremely manipulative personalities and can make you feel like they own or control your every move. “Someone doesn’t have to physically hit you for it to be abusive,” says Jenn. “I’ve been a social worker for 14 years and have worked with families. If someone controls everything you do then you should not be with them. You should be free to do and think what you want.”

3. Your Partner Withholds Love and Affection

There is nothing lonelier than living with a partner who doesn’t allow you to express or share your feelings, or who trivializes you and makes you feel invisible or insignificant. “A marriage requires intimacy, and intimacy requires empathy,” says Julie. “If one partner withholds information and feelings, then the marriage bond weakens. The abuser who refuses to listen to his partner denies her experience and leaves her isolated.”

She goes on to explain how this can be a subtle form of abuse: “Often the partner becomes confused and believes she hasn’t effectively explained to her mate how important certain things are to her. Undermining is also verbal abuse. The abuser not only withholds emotional support, but also erodes confidence and determination. The abuser often will squelch an idea or suggestion just by a single comment.”
4. Your Partner Berates, Belittles, or Humiliates

Victims of abuse know all too well how sneaky abusers can be with their snide comments and mocking. They will shoot you a barb, but walk out of the room smiling and charming in public so that others never see your private shame and hurt, says a Circle of Moms member named Bonnie. This kind of treatment is a special kind of violence: “If the person is telling their significant other [that] they are worthless, fat, ugly, stupid, [or] can’t do anything right. . . .that hits emotionally. . .”

Jessica W. knows this all too well. She describes one of her husband’s typical ploys: “He blames me for the reason we can’t save (I don’t have a job) [and] he takes it out on me. I am hearing a lot now that I am the cause of our money problems when I stay home all day. He tells me all the time and runs me down to where I feel like scum. . . but it’s because I am busy taking care of the house, a two-year-old, and growing a baby inside me. I try to defend myself and give him real true reasons why this way is best, and [assure him that] the money is actually going towards things we need verses his carefree spending. But when I try he gets angry, cuts me off and speaks above me so he won’t have to hear what I have to say.”

And Megan R. has these choice words to describe her ex-husband’s humiliating behavior: “Down right cruel. He would allow our roommate to call me a fat *ss lazy b*tch and then say, ‘Oh I thought you deserved it’ when I asked why he didn’t say anything.”

5. Your Partner Tries to Isolate You

Cutting off your relationships with your friends, family and other social contacts is another classic sign of an abusive relationship. Abusers, says Laura S., are “very jealous and possessive of you,” and they want you to think that you need them.

A Circle of Moms member named Jenni describes how her former partner accomplished this: “He eventuallyconvinced me to stop talking to family and friends. I was embarrassed for them to see what he was doing to me and his behavior, so I shut them out. He isolated me and I felt he was the only person I had in my life who cared about me.”
6. Your Partner Loses His Temper Quickly

Abusers tend to have a quick fuse, say moms who’ve spent time with one. Jenn describes her experience: “In an argument, he would yell at me for 24 hours straight until I conceded. He’d sleep deprive me so I was in a weakened state. And then yell at me until he believed I actually agreed with him and wasn’t just agreeing to shut him up. It was horrible, I was miserable, I became a shell of my former self.”

Ultimately, if the signs do point to the fact you are in an abusive relationship, it’s critical that you not blame yourself. “Please don’t make the mistake of thinking that any of this is your fault and that things will get better if you only do all things he has told you will make him happy,” says Camie. She follows with som strong words: “NOTHING will ever be good enough no matter what you do. This will be your life. And if you have children with an abuser, they will be damaged and continue to live this cycle of violence.”

Are you concerned that there are signs of abuse in your relationship?

http://livingvoraciously.wordpress.com/2012/02/06/6-signs-you-are-in-an-abusive-relationship/

12 Responses to “6 Signs You Are in an Abusive Relationship…”

  1. gothchiq February 27, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    This was my life for ten years. There were even areas of my own home I wasn’t allowed into, items I wasn’t allowed to touch because I was “too stupid and destroyed everything I touched.” I did all the housework alone, while also working one full time and two part time jobs. And my cleaning was criticized. He spent huge amounts of money on amusements for himself, and on his friends, leaving me not enough to cover the basic bills and food. He ran up huge debts on my accounts and then refused to pay. When confronted with his lies he told me I was crazy and that everything I said I had made up, even when I had witnesses. He also deprived me of sleep regularly by various methods, often by playing loud video games and movies late into the night and refusing to wear headphones.

    I don’t have kids, I’m sterile. The last straw was when he threw a full soda bottle at my blind 18 year old cat. I finally realized that if I didn’t leave I would end up dead or in an institution before long.

    Now, of course, he has a new victim. At least it’s not me any more.

    • justsaynototoxicrelationships February 27, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      WOW! Thank you so much for sharing your story. I can relate to the depriving me of sleep – my ex would wake me up in the middle of the night because I rolled over in bed and start a fight that would last no less than 2 hours – I would go to work exhausted!!! I will never forget the first time I realized I had made a mistake, that was the night I realized I had made HUGE mistake, yet, I stuck it out for 6+ years – why, I still really don’t understand. I am a strong woman, and knowing that someone could come into your life and just turn it all upside down – and play with my mind like that. It’s been a tough road, but every day I get stronger and stronger and I love being on my own having my OWN place!!! Hang in there! ~ Cheri

  2. stormyharvey February 27, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    There are so many things you have written in this and your previous post that are so true, and have truly hit home with me. Kudos to you for sharing it like this.

    • justsaynototoxicrelationships February 27, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

      You are so very welcome!! Everything I write comes from my heart and soul – it has helped me learn about myself and more importantly heal from my toxic relationship!

  3. ivegotsomethingonmymind June 24, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Reblogged this on ivegotsomethingonmymind and commented:
    Food for thought.

  4. Eleia May 15, 2015 at 12:50 pm #

    I have come to this sight for a reason. I have experienced some of these signs if not all. Shame and guilt and especially embarrassment keep me in the relationship that I’m in and knew for a while that it’s not healthy, but I would see glimmers of hope. But after reading these articles, I’m making up many mind to leave this relationship. I deserve better. I don’t have any children with my abuser, but it’s the feeling sorry for him that keeps me too as if I could really change him. I have been isolated from family and friends and even felt like there is nobody I could talk to. Economic struggle has kept me here to. But I’m ready to let go. I’m making up my mind today to get out of this relationship. I know it’s not God’s best for me, but not wanting to be a failure has kept me in this long enough. I know I will recover from this. It’s not the end of the world. I just long to be in a real, loving relationship and my abuser has made me feel like no one else will love me better and for a while I believed him. This is freeing and I’m looking forward to becoming my true self again.

    • justsaynototoxicrelationships May 15, 2015 at 7:16 pm #

      WOW!!!!!!! Thank you Eleia for sharing!!! Your story sounds a lot like my story….where do you live????? I would love to stay in touch with you!!! Congratulations on your decision!!! You have Decided to Fly!!!!!!!

  5. justsaynototoxicrelationships March 3, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Wonderful article! Thank you for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 3 Kinds of People « My Last Pen - March 3, 2012

    […] 6 Signs You Are in an Abusive Relationship… (justsaynototoxicrelationships.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:LikeOne blogger likes this post. […]

  2. Just Because They Say It Doesn’t Mean It’s True « Domestic Violence Antidote - March 26, 2012

    […] 6 Signs You Are in an Abusive Relationship… (justsaynototoxicrelationships.wordpress.com) […]

  3. How Abuse Defines Self-Concept | Social Behavioral Patterns–How to Understand Culture and Behaviors - May 29, 2012

    […] 6 Signs You Are in an Abusive Relationship… (justsaynototoxicrelationships.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Looking Through an Abused Child’s Eyes | Social Behavioral Patterns–How to Understand Culture and Behaviors - May 30, 2012

    […] 6 Signs You Are in an Abusive Relationship… (justsaynototoxicrelationships.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

