Running Away…

14 Sep

Running Away

Written By:  Cheri Coleman 9-13-11


Lord, why do I run away when I need to stand still?

Lord, why do I run away when things get challenging?

Lord, why do I run away from true love?

 

Why do I keep running away?

What am I so afraid of?

What am I so afraid of?

 

If I would have stood still long enough I would have heard your voice

If I would have faced my challenges head on, I would have seen the victory waiting for me

If I had listened to my heart, I would have given true love another chance

Just like you have done for me 70 x 7

                                                                                                  

Why do I keep running away?

What am I so afraid of?

What am I so afraid of?

 

Lord, I am no longer afraid…

I no longer want to run away, I want to stand still and listen to your voice…

I will follow the path you have carved out for me…

 

Lord, I will face head on…every challenge you throw down

It’s these challenges that will make me a STRONGER woman,

You promise that you will not give me more than I can handle

 

Lord, I will love with a complete heart,

I will no longer run from love…I will embrace it, treasure it and hold onto it for all eternity…

I trust in your love for me

I trust in true love forever…

 

Why do I keep running away?

What am I so afraid of?

What am I so afraid of?

 

I am no longer afraid to stand still,

I will face my challenges

 I will love again and I will be loved.

I am done running away…

Copyright 2011 © Cheri Coleman

3 Responses to “Running Away…”

  1. Muse Mary September 14, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Cheri,

    These are beautiful words from a beautiful woman who is trusting God each day through this season of life!

    (Would not be surprised to see these words as song lyrics!)

    I truly admire your positive attitude.

    Love ya

    • justsaynototoxicrelationships September 15, 2011 at 6:34 am #

      Good Morning Mary!

      Thank you so much for the wonderful encouragement!!!! I am learning to trust GOD more and more each day – I was amazed at how easy this poem came out!!! GOD is GOOD!!! HUGS to you and Love you too!

  2. Muse Mary September 14, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Great picture… it reminds me of “freedom”!

Leave a Reply

