Stronger Than I Know…

19 Jun

Stronger Than I Know…

When we first met, it was love at first site…

It’s what I didn’t know from the beginning…

That has made me Stronger Than I Know…

Secrets kept hidden even on our wedding day…

You came clean immediately after we…

Said our “I Do’s”

I forgave you, said it was “no big deal” but

What I have learned over the years…

It was a BIG deal…

If you could keep a secret like that on our

Wedding day, what else where you hiding?

I soon found out…

You had a temper like no other, you said

It’s because I love you….REALLY?

Your temper is what has made me…

Stronger Than I Know…

I lost my kids, friends and family over YOU…

I have learned that I will NEVER again choose a man

over my kids, friends and family…

I am Stronger Than I Know…

You kept me away from my faith…

You told me I could not have single friends…

You would encourage me to do things I was

Not comfortable with…pushing my boundaries…

If I said “no,” a fight would start…I just started

Giving in to “Keep the Peace”

In keeping the peace, there was a price to pay…

I lost myself, my confidence, I withdrew…

From everyone that TRULY loved ME…

Because of YOU….

I am Stronger Than I Know

Written By:  Cheri Coleman 6/19/11

Copyright 2011 © Cheri Coleman

7 Responses to “Stronger Than I Know…”

  1. Mary Bradford June 19, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    The song ” Strong Enough” has been running non-stop the past few days…

    “You must think I’m strong
    To give me what I’m going through

    Well, forgive me
    Forgive me if I’m wrong
    But this looks like more than I can do
    On my own

    I know I’m not strong enough to be
    everything that I’m supposed to be
    I give up
    I’m not strong enough
    Hands of mercy won’t you cover me
    Lord right now I’m asking you to be
    Strong enough
    Strong enough
    For the both of us

    Well, maybe
    Maybe that’s the point
    To reach the point of giving up

    Cause when I’m finally
    Finally at rock bottom
    Well, that’s when I start looking up
    And reaching out

    I know I’m not strong enough to be
    Everything that I’m supposed to be
    I give up
    I’m not stong enough
    Hands of mercy won’t you cover me
    Lord right now I’m asking you to be
    Strong enough
    Strong enough

    Cause I’m broken
    Down to nothing
    But I’m still holding on to the one thing
    You are God
    and you are strong
    When I am weak

    I can do all things
    Through Christ who gives me strength
    And I don’t have to be
    Strong enough
    Strong enough

    I can do all things
    Through Christ who gives me strength
    And I don’t have to be
    Strong enough
    Strong enough

    Oh, yeah

    I know I’m not strong enough to be
    Everything that I’m supposed to be
    I give up
    I’m not strong enough
    Hands of mercy won’t you cover me
    Lord right now I’m asking you to be
    Strong enough

    Christian lyrics – STRONG ENOUGH LYRICS – MATTHEW WEST

    • Mary Bradford June 19, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      Silly me…
      …The first line should say “running in my mind” not just “running” :))

    • justsaynototoxicrelationships June 20, 2011 at 1:15 am #

      Love it Mary – I have never heard this song, I will have to check it out – I know Cher has one that really hits a nerve!! Thank you!!!! HUGS and love to you my muse!!! :-)

      • Mary Bradford June 21, 2011 at 4:34 am #

        You are such an inspiration and encourager !!

      • justsaynototoxicrelationships June 21, 2011 at 4:55 am #

        Thank you Mary!!! I am loving it!!

        Cheri Coleman Just say NO Toxic Relationships “New beginnings always start with endings” :-)

  2. Todd Lohenry May 17, 2012 at 4:56 am #

    Wow. This is stunningly powerful. Thanks for your transparency and your skill in writing…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

